| Flotsam |

Courvoisier Winetavious Richardson, Florida Teen, Finalist For "Name of the Year"

​He blew past Shalom Dreampeace Compost. He wrecked Rockwell C. Bonecutter. He demolished Ebeneezer Noonoo. Now a 19-year-old from Florida with the mind-blowing moniker of Courvoisier Winetavious Richardson is just one round away from winning the coveted title of Name of the Year -- the wildly popular annual online bracket of the best real names of real people.

Winning the title won't be easy, though, for the young burglary suspect from Leesburg. Sitting in his way is a Dutch epidemiologist with one of the greatest names ever entered into Name of the Year: Taco B.M. Monster.

Name of the Year, which started as a college lark between friends, has lately gotten press from everybody from Bill Simmons to the Economist (which analyzed in some depth in January how some of the most bizarre names affect job prospects.)

The names might seem snatched straight from a drunken round of Mad Libs, but the site's authors -- who prefer to keep their own names anonymous -- scrupulously verify that each entry belongs to a real person.

Monsterville Horton IV? He's a wine salesman in Houston. Rev. Demon Sox? A retired Lutheran preacher. Orel Oral, meanwhile, is a swim coach in Indiana, Madz Negro is a high school cross country runner, and La'Peaches Pitts is a business recruiter and bridesmaid.

​All have fallen this year in online voting to the glorious name of Courvoisier Winetavious Richardson, though. Richardson, who was charged in Lake County, Florida in November, 2010 for his role in a series of bank robberies, made the Finals last week after taking down Delorean Blow, a North Carolina prisoner.

Can the Florida teen keep up his magical run to namesake glory? Taco B.M. Monster -- who authored a paper on "the impact of antihypertensive drug groups on urinary albumin excretion in a non-diabetic population" -- won't be easy to top.

But he's already bested the last local entry into the contest -- Hialeah footballer God's Power Offor, who lost out in the earlier rounds of 2010's contest.

Voting is ongoing at NOTY. Here's the full bracket:


Follow Miami New Times on Facebook and Twitter @MiamiNewTimes.

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


Join the New Times community and help support independent local journalism in Miami.


Join the New Times community and help support independent local journalism in Miami.