Armand Pena

Sunday-night Nikki Beach resident Armand Pena will introduce his new slick-as-hell house compilation LP, Nervous Nitelife: Miami 2009, during his set Wednesday, March 25. The compilation features a number of Pena's own original productions and remixes, in addition to tracks from current it-boy Chris Lake, Joi Cardwell, Tom "Superchumbo" Stephan, the Cube Guys, and others.

Pena, already an enthusiastic guy, has a lot in the works this year to jump up and down about. That includes his first artist album, coming this summer, which he describes as a fusion of pop and dance. He believes that's where it's at these days: "You have pop going to that 4/4 up-tempo beat. All the latest up-tempo pop is dance-influenced."

As for the Miami scene, he thinks it has recently taken a step backward to regroup: "House music has come back in a big way. I'm feeling like it's going back to that funky, tech, chuggy groove influence, almost back to its roots."

Pena hits WMC fresh from gigs in Zurich and Frankfurt, his first visit to both cities.

1. Oscar G, "Back to You"

2. Armand Pena feat. Kevin Conow, "One Love"

3. Chris Lake, "If You Knew"

4. Granite, "Downtown"

5. Ralph Falcon, "Every Now and Then (Paolo Mojo Remix)"

6. Armand Pena and Alex Seda, "Rocket Science"

7. DMX, "Faithless" (bootleg)

8. Felipe Kaval and Joseph Durant, "Puta Loca"

9. Joi Cardwell, "Keep Comin' Around (Armand Pena Remix)"

KEEP MIAMI NEW TIMES FREE... Since we started Miami New Times, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Miami, and we'd like to keep it that way. With local media under siege, it's more important than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" program, allowing us to keep offering readers access to our incisive coverage of local news, food and culture with no paywalls.
Eric W. Saeger