DJ Tom Laroc's State of the Union Mix

The weekend is about to start in a few hours, and what better way to get it started than with a DJ mix courtesy of Tom Laroc? Laroc released his State of the Union mixtape yesterday via the Rakontur blog. The mix features tracks by Ludacris, Bob Marley, Jay-Z and the Beatles.

The mix starts a little choppy with John & Ernest's "Soul President #1," a Q&A with the answers being made up of sampled popular songs, setting the political tone which is followed through the entire mix.

If you are interested, make sure to click here to download the mix. Full tracklisting after the jump.

1. John & Ernest - Soul President #1

2. Ludacris - Politics

3. Bob Marley - Get Up, Stand Up

4. Jay Z - Dead Presidents II

5. Little Brother - Can’t Win for Losing

6. Common f/ Dwele - The People

7. Eric B. & Rakim - Eric B. for President

8. Chuck Brown - We Need Some Money

9. Buddy Miles - Them Changes

10. The Beatles - Revolution (Drum Beat)

In case you want to catch Laroc in the flesh, he spins every Thursday at Bella Rose (423 16th Street, Miami Beach).

-- Jose D. Duran

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >