Miami New Times Dominates Florida Press Club Awards

Miami New Times dominated this past weekend's Florida Press Club Awards in Saint Augustine. The newspaper took ten awards, more than any other in the state.

Among the winners: Frank Alvarado and Robert Dunlap took first in general news writing; Tim Elfrink, first in government news and business writing; Mike Miller, first in serious features, religion writing, and environmental writing. Chuck Strouse first in commentary; Pam Shavalier first in feature page design and second in front-page design. Gus Garcia-Roberts, first in sports features.

All those awards were in Class D.

Our sister publication, New Times Broward Palm Beach also did well. Lisa Rab took first in minority reporting and second in business reporting, former staffer Mike Mooney grabbed top honors in sports features and Miche Ratto garnered first in feature page design, The staff took third for best online publication. All of these were in Class A.

Follow Miami New Times on Facebook and Twitter @MiamiNewTimes.

KEEP MIAMI NEW TIMES FREE... Since we started Miami New Times, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Miami, and we'd like to keep it that way. With local media under siege, it's more important than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" program, allowing us to keep offering readers access to our incisive coverage of local news, food and culture with no paywalls.
Chuck Strouse is the former editor in chief of Miami New Times. He has shared two Pulitzer Prizes and won dozens of other awards. He is an honors graduate of Brown University and has worked at newspapers including the Miami Herald and Los Angeles Times.
Contact: Chuck Strouse