Everyone Running for Miami-Dade Mayor

Candidates running for Miami-Dade mayor in the special May 24 election to replace recalled Carlos Alvarez had to register by 5 p.m. today. There are very few surprises in the list of candidates (read: no last-minute Alex Penelas filing), but here's a look at your choices on the ballot in a couple of weeks.

  • Julio Robaina (Hialeah mayor since 2005) 
  • Marcelo Llorente (a former Republican state representative)
  • Carlos Gimenez (resigned from his seat on the Miami-Dade County Commission, which could trigger another special election)
  • Roosevelt Bradley (former Miami-Dade Transit director)
  • Luther "Uncle Luke" Campbell (2 Live Crew leader and New Times columnist)
  • Jose "Pepe" Cancio (former appointed county commissioner who replaced Miriam Alonso)
  • Jeffrey Lampert
  • Farid Khavari (an economist who ran as an independent in the 2010 Florida gubernatorial election on a platform to create a state bank) 
  • Gabrielle Redfern (bicycling activist and former Miami Beach Commission candidate)
  • Eddie Lewis (former candidate for Miami-Dade tax appraiser) 
  • Wilbur Bell

Follow Miami New Times on Facebook and Twitter @MiamiNewTimes.

KEEP MIAMI NEW TIMES FREE... Since we started Miami New Times, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Miami, and we'd like to keep it that way. With local media under siege, it's more important than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" program, allowing us to keep offering readers access to our incisive coverage of local news, food and culture with no paywalls.
Kyle Munzenrieder