WMC Preview: Alex From Tokyo

Working in both New York and, well, Tokyo, the artist known as Alex from Tokyo has shifted from an experimenting house dabbler to a member of the lauded Berlin Innervisions label. Tokyo Black Star, his production group with Tokyo-based producer and engineer Isao Kumano, released their latest studio effort on Innervisions. (The record also included vocals by that circle's poet, Rich Medina.) While TBS rides a percolating wave of space clouds and synthesizer excursions, Alex's DJ sets move bodies with deep house, Italo bounce, and sprinkles of the finest stellar dust around. Just check the set list from his latest mix, Reincarnation (the Flashback Mix), and get all the info about his WMC appearances, after the jump.

1. Stephane Attias - Program Change (Kick Less)

2. MFOR - Larks Head

3. Stephane Attias - Program Change

4. Ron Trent - Journey In 2 U

5. Attias - Domino

6. Season and Sygaire feat. Randolph Matthews - Inner Navigation (Vocal Version)

7. Pasta Boys - Moonraker

8. Gerald Mittchell - Resident Warrior

9. Deetron - Lets Get Over (Phlash Edit)

10. Tokyo Black Star - Reincarnation

11. Tokyo Black Star - Reincarnation (Volcov Remix)

12. MFOR - Thief

13. Atjazz - Looking Glass

14. Pasta Boys - Cloud Nine

15. Armando Gallop feat. Sharvette - Dont Take It

Saturday, March 28 at the Aquabooty / Miami vs. NYC / Innervisions / Jump N Funk party at Skybar at the Shore Club, 1901 Collins Ave., Miami Beach. Doors open at 6 p.m., admission is $20. Ages 21+ with ID. aquabooty.com

-- Chris Toenes

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >