Dark Night of the Soul Album With Iggy Pop, Danger Mouse, Sparklehorse Finally Set For Legal Release

Dark Night of the Soul may sound familiar to you. Danger Mouse and iconic filmmaker David Lynch displayed photographs from the illustrated companion book to the album at the O.H.W.O.W. gallery this past Art Basel.

The album was set for release last May, but never made it out to record stores. A legal dispute with EMI Records kept the album from fans, who were (legally) only able to stream it or buy the album artwork -- which came with a blank CD.

The legal battle is now over, though, and Dark Night of the Soul is set for release July 13. The album contains vocals from the Flaming Lips, Julian Casablancas, our beloved Iggy Pop, James Mercer (of the Shins/Broken Bells), Vic Chesnutt (RIP), Sparklehorse (RIP again), Jason Lytle, Frank Black (the Pixies), Gruff Rhys (Super Furry Animals), Nina Persson (the Cardigans), and then some.

Each song's vocalist doesn't only sing, though, as they each had a hand in composing and producing this labor of love, adding each band's touch to quite possibly the ultimate collaboration. And now you can finally listen to it. We're not sure if it's because of Vic Chesnutt's passing or Sparklehorse frontman Mark Linkous' suicide earlier this year, but we definitely hear an underlying darkness in Dark Night of the Soul.

Stream the entire album after the jump.

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >