IACP Nominations Are in For Best Food Blog (And Other Things)

​The International Association of Culinary Professionals has announced the nominees for its 2012 writing awards. These honors are handed out for all manner of food writing -- newspapers, magazines, internet, blogs, television shows, cookbooks. It even gives nods to the most "Intriguing Use of New Technology" and best "Culinary Product or Brand Website." In this latter category, I'm rooting for The Official Homepage of the Idaho Potato. I think most would agree that if the IACP can hand out two awards to me (2008; 2009) it can certainly hand one over to the Idaho Potato.

One of the more interesting showdowns is between Jacques Pepin and Ming Tsai for best television series. Andrew Carmellini, of The Dutch, is about the only local name (sort of) I can find on the extensive 2012 list (nominated as author of Best American Cookbook). Winners will be announced at the IACP Awards Ceremony in NYC on April 2.

Anyway, here are the nominees in a few of the categories:

Best Culinary Website:
Find. Eat. Drink

Best Culinary Blog:
5 Second Rule (Cheryl Sternman Rule)
Bona Fide Farm Food(Tom Hirschfield)
Pizza Quest (Peter Reinhart)

Best Televised Culinary Series:
Essential Pepin, Host: Jacques Pepin
Simply Ming, Host: Ming Tsai
New York Chow Report, Host: Alexandra Van Buren

Best American Cookbook:
American Flavor, Author: Andrew Carmellini
The Apple Lover's Cookbook, Author: Amy Traverso
The Homesick Texan, Author Lisa Fain

Follow Short Order on Facebook and Twitter @Short_Order.

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


Join the New Times community and help support independent local journalism in Miami.


Join the New Times community and help support independent local journalism in Miami.