Jim Larranaga Named AP Coach of the Year

Sure, the 'Canes might not have made it as far in the tournament as your Miami pride and/or bracket would have hoped, but luckily head coach Jim Larranaga still managed to storm through the competition in the race for the AP Coach of the Year award.

See also:
- Miami Hurricanes Basketball Moves to NCAA Championship

Voted on by the same panel of journos who assemble the weekly AP rankings, the award is considered the most prestigious among the various coach of the year awards. Larranaga has already been crowned ACC coach of the year, and earlier won the Henry Iba Coach of the Year award.

Larranaga received 29 out of 65 votes. Saint Louis' Jim Crews came in second with 19 votes. Voting actually ended before March Madness started on selection Sunday, but is traditionally announced the week before the Final Four commences.

Follow Miami New Times on Facebook and Twitter @MiamiNewTimes.

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >