Florida Press Club Awards: New Times' Five First-Place Awards Among State's Best

New Times did serious damage at the recent Florida Press Club Awards, announced Monday, taking home far more trophies than any other weekly paper in the state and ranking with the best in virtually every significant category. The paper took five first places and a passel of runners-up.

Miami New Times columnist Luther Campbell took a first in commentary.

Staff writer Michael E. Miller took a first in community newswriting for all newspapers, a second in travel writing, and thirds in health writing, sports feature, and public safety reporting.

Staff writer Terry McCoy took firsts in government news and religion writing.

And Deirdra Funcheon, New Times Broward-Palm Beach managing editor, grabbed a first in light features.

Miami New Times Managing Editor Tim Elfrink, not to be outdone, took seconds in general news and serious feature writing.

Finally, staff writer Francisco Alvarado, who recently left the paper, took third in minority reporting. Art director Miche Ratto also grabbed third in cover design.

Follow Miami New Times on Facebook and Twitter @MiamiNewTimes.

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >