Club Coup

New Times has won twelve awards in the Florida Press Club's Excellence in Journalism competition. The awards, for work published between July 1, 1994 and June 30, 1995, were presented on Saturday, October 21, in Fort Lauderdale.

In competition against other weeklies from throughout the state, New Times was chosen Best Weekly Periodical. In addition, staff writers from the paper swept the Feature Story category, with former staffer Steven Almond winning first place, Kathy Glasgow second, and Todd Anthony third. Jim DeFede and Elise Ackerman took first and third place, respectively, in the In-depth News division. For Environmental News, staff writer Kirk Semple won a first-place award. And for Criticism, theater critic Pamela Gordon took first place, with associate editor Michael Yockel receiving second-place honors for his music writing.

New Times art director Brian Stauffer was awarded first place in two categories -- Feature Page Layout and Photo Illustration, the latter for one of his own artworks. Freelance illustrator and frequent contributor Jordin Isip also won a first-place award for a piece commissioned by New Times.