Carbonell Announces Special Awards Honorees, Musical Numbers

There's still time to get tickets to this evening's 38th annual Carbonell Awards, South Florida's celebration of the community's theatrical excellence. The ceremony will feature a multimedia tribute to the best plays of the season, a live band led by musical director Caryl Fantel, and musical performances by cast members from each of the shows nominated for Best Musical.

See also: Carbonell Awards 2014 Honors South Florida's Theatrical Best at Amaturo Theater Monday

The panel just announced the evening's musical numbers: Nominees Nick Duckart and Oscar Cheda will be joined by other cast members for a medley from In the Heights at Actors' Playhouse at the Miracle Theatre; nominees Matthew Korinko, Anne Chamberlain, Clay Cartland and Bruno Vida will be joined by the rest of the cast of Next to Normal at Slow Burn Theatre to perform "Light"; nominee Elizabeth Dimon from The Longing and the Short of It at Theatre at Arts Garage will perform "Starting Sh*t with You"; nominee Burke Moses from Thoroughly Modern Millie at Maltz Jupiter Theatre will perform "The Speed Test"; nominees Amy Miller Brennan and Julia Dale from Ruthless! at Actors' Playhouse at the Miracle Theatre will perform "Born to Entertain/It Can Never Be That Way Again"; and nominee Lourelene Snedecker from The Sound of Music at The Wick will be joined by cast mates to perform "Climb Ev'ry Mountain."

This year, Palm Beach County theaters earned a total of 62 nominations, followed by Miami-Dade theaters with 28 nominations, and Broward County theaters with eight. Several companies were nominated in multiple categories, including Coral Gables' GableStage, which received six nominations.

"Every director is pleased when their work is praised -- and especially pleased when an actor in a production is nominated," said Artistic Director Joseph Adler, who is nominated for Best Director for the production, Cock. Actors from Cock and other GableStage productions, My Name is Asher Lev, Good People, and Sons of the Prophet, also received performance nominations this year.

Though he's a 10-time winner of Carbonell's Best Director award, Adler still gets a bit nervous before the yearly ceremony.

"I've been very fortunate when it comes to receiving Carbonells -- but I am still vaguely uneasy at large events like this," Adler told Cultist in an email. "Some South Florida Theater people call it 'Theater Prom Night' -- and I still remember that in high school, I was never really comfortable at the prom."

In addition to the musical numbers, the Carbonell panel recently announced this year's Special Awards Honorees. Each year, the Carbonell Awards sponsors the George Abbott Award for Outstanding Achievement in the Arts, awarded to an individual or team who has contributed significantly to the artistic and cultural development of the region. This year's recipient is conductor Patrick Dupre Quigley, founder and producing artistic director of Seraphic Fire.

The Bill Hindman Award, named after pioneer South Florida actor Bill Hindman, recognizes significant, long-term contributions to the region's cultural life and onstage career achievement by performing artists. This year's recipient, Don McArt, will be honored posthumously. Jan McArt, dubbed the First Lady of Florida Theatre, will accept the award at the March 31 ceremony for her late brother.

The Ruth Foreman Award will recognize GableStage in Coral Gables, playwright and Miami native Tarell Alvin McCraney, Stratford-on-Avon's Royal Shakespeare Company, and New York's Public Theater for their collaboration on Shakespeare's Antony and Cleopatra. McCraney, who is playwright in residence at the Royal Shakespeare Company, directed and wrote the adaptation, which is set in Haiti.

The 38th annual Carbonell Awards ceremony. Monday, March 31, at 7:30 p.m. in the Amaturo Theater, at Broward Center for the Performing Arts, 201 SW Fifth Ave., Fort Lauderdale). Patrons are encouraged to check for last minute ticket availability by contacting the Broward Center's AutoNation Box Office. Call 954-462-0222 or visit browardcenter.org.

This year's awards event will be once again be live-tweeted from backstage of the awards ceremony. Follow @CarbonellAwards on Twitter, hashtag #Carbonell2014, beginning at 6:30 p.m.

Send your story tips to Cultist at cultist@miaminewtimes.com.

Follow Cultist on Facebook and Twitter @CultistMiami.

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >