New Times Joins the Club

Three Miami New Times staffers took honors in the recent Florida Press Club's Excellence in Journalism contest. The newspaper was named the best in its class among Florida weeklies.

Art director Dean Sebring placed first for a photo illustration and third in front-page design. Robert Andrew Powell also garnered two awards: a first in sports writing and a third in in-depth writing. Jacob Bernstein took top honors for excellence in feature writing.

The 49-year-old Florida Press Club held an awards banquet in Tampa on October 24. The contest is primarily open to the state's dozens of small papers, but some major dailies like the Sun-Sentinel also enter.


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >