Florida's Teenagers Can Now Sext Without Worrying About Becoming a Felon
Gov. Rick Scott delivered terrific news for the state's horny and technologically advanced teenagers today. He's signed a bill that lowers the penalties for minors sending pictures of their junk to each other. Used to be kids could get charged with big-time felonies like distribution of child pornography. Problem was no one really wanted to charge kids with crimes like that for stupid teenage hijinks, so the new law actual represents a more practical way to deal with the matter.
Any under-aged, would-be Weiner who sends another minor a sexually explicit text message, photo or video will now be forced to either pay a fine of $60 or complete eight hours of community service.
The second offense however could lead to 60 days in jail and a $500 fine. Ouch. The charges could get bumped up to a felony on the fourth offense.
So basically kids, you only get three sexts before you become a felon. Choose that sext message wisely.
Get the This Week's Top Stories Newsletter
Every week we collect the latest news, music and arts stories — along with film and food reviews and the best things to do this week — so that you’ll never miss Miami New Times' biggest stories.
- Erika Now Projected To Miss South Florida
Fri., Sep. 4, 11:30am
Fri., Sep. 4, 6:35pm
Sat., Sep. 5, 11:30am
Sat., Sep. 5, 7:00pm
- Miami's Latin Builders Association Calls Donald Trump "Repugnant," Pulls Gala From His...
- Micky Arison Teases Internet With Miami Vice-Style Heat Jerseys