David Byrne and Brian Eno

My Life in the Bush of Ghosts, released in 1981 (and recently reissued), was an attempt by David Byrne and Brian Eno to forge new territory via found sounds, samples, and assorted Africanisms that foreshadowed a good many musical trends. In contrast, Everything That Happens represents a retrenchment, albeit an often-pleasant one. Eno's musical settings recall the curious warmth of his mid-Seventies recordings, and their sonic consistency prevents Byrne from indulging in the sort of genre exercises that have made his post-Talking Heads solo work so spotty. The most Heads-like offerings, such as "I Feel My Stuff" and "Poor Boy," often seem forced. But comparatively serene ditties, such as "Home," "The River," and "One Fine Day," offer deep, lovely moments, their lack of adventurousness notwithstanding.


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >