Alarm Will Sound

With 10 arrangers working with a 22-piece classical group, Alarm Will Sound's excellent reinterpretations of Aphex Twin's catalogue make the original efforts sound small in comparison. Aphex Twin is the celebrated British electronic producer who habitually tears apart his computers only to later resurrect them as supermodified weapons of digital cacophony. In the hands of Alarm Will Sound, Aphex Twin's oftentimes difficult compositions are rendered considerably more listenable. "Cock/Ver 10" channels the manic muse of Looney Tunes composer Carl Stalling, while more ambient offerings such as "Cliffs" sound as serene as a Debussy symphony. Throughout Acoustica, Alarm Will Sound manages to reaffirm Aphex Twin's technical genius as well as smooth over the rougher edges of his compositions.


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >