Film Poll 2013

Supporting Actor — Votes for James Franco

Robert AbeleUnranked
Sam Adams1st
Melissa Anderson1st
Sean Axmaker2nd
Monica Castillo1st
Bob Chipman1st
Jake Cole2nd
Jordan Cronk1st
Alonso Duralde2nd
Steve Erickson1st
David Fear1st
Ed Gonzalez3rd
Tim Grierson1st
Tomas Hachard2nd
Eugene Hernandez2nd
Aaron Hillis1st
Inkoo Kang2nd
Adam Kempenaar1st
Ben Kenigsberg1st
Jonathan KieferUnranked
Peter Knegt1st
Eric Kohn2nd
Dan Kois2nd
Josh Larsen3rd
Robert Levin3rd
Phillip Lopate2nd
Calum Marsh3rd
Patrick Z. McGavin1st
Angelo MureddaUnranked
Rob NelsonUnranked
Amy Nicholson1st
Michael Nordine2nd
Mark Olsen1st
Michelle OrangeUnranked
Keith Phipps3rd
Nathan Rabin1st
Joshua Rothkopf1st
Alan ScherstuhlUnranked
Michael Sicinski2nd
Brent SimonUnranked
Matt Singer1st
Sara VizcarrondoUnranked
Dave WhiteUnranked
Zachary Wigon2nd

Film Poll Home >

How the Film Poll Works

This year, 96 critics from across the country voted for their favorite films, performances, and filmmakers in 13 categories. Films were awarded five points each. A film is eligible only in the year that it was first distributed in the U.S. For six of those categories (Best Film of the Year, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Best Supporting Actress, Best Undistributed Film), critics had the option to either "rank" or "unrank" their votes. For example, in the Best Film category, where ten votes are possible, a ranked ballot's #1 choice was awarded 10 points, the #2 choice nine points, etc. On ballots designated as "unranked," films were awarded five points each, and performances two points. Ties of any kind were not allowed.

Update: A correction — and an upset! We originally listed Oscar Isaac of Inside Llewyn Davis as the winner in our film poll's best actor category. According to our first round of poll math, he had just barely edged out Chiwetel Ejiofor of 12 Years a Slave. After publishing the results, we discovered that we had missed three misspellings of Ejiofor's name in critics' ballots, which meant three Ejiofor votes weren't added to the actor's official total.

After a few more rounds of bug-stomping -- you wouldn't believe how many ways critics can spell names like "Scarlett Johansson" or "Adèle Exarchopoulos" -- we're pleased to announce that Ejiofor has edged out Isaac by two votes, proving once again that poor Llewyn Davis just can't win. Thanks again to everyone who voted. The Voice regrets the error.

Box Office Report

Join My Voice Nation for free stuff, film info & more!

Now Showing

Find capsule reviews, showtimes & tickets for all films in town.