Beezlebub Has a Concert Set Aside for You

No, this musical performance does not take place in the back seat of a Gremlin X. Freddie Mercury is not a character, and no one spews into a paper cup at the end like in Wayne’s World. Actually, the title, “Bohemian Rhapsody,” refers only to the Czech roots of the three composers on display: Liszt, Golijov, and Dvořák. The rhapsody comes from guest conductor Marin Alsop, the first woman to direct a major American orchestra (Baltimore); and guest cellist Alisa Weilerstein, who at age 13 debuted at the Cleveland Orchestra and at the tender age of 27 has already won an Avery Fisher Career Grant.

These two performers team up with the New World Symphony Fellows tonight for a triptych of pieces ranging from brand-new (Golijov’s Azul) to iconic (Dvořák’s Seventh Symphony).
Fri., April 10, 7:30 p.m., 2009


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >